ICYMI: Watch Club Awards program webcast

National Press Club President Lisa Nicole Matthews presented the Club’s 2021 journalism awards in a Jan. 6 virtual event that is available on the Club website.

The awards honored outstanding coverage of events in 2020 spanning 15 categories. Many of the winners and honorable mention recipients gave remarks during the online ceremony.

Opening screen of National Press Club Awards program.

The program also highlighted the winners of the Club’s journalism scholarships – Kaleb Anderson (Julie School Scholarship for Diversity), Shradha Dinesh (Richard D. Zimmerman Award), Chloe Clark (Wes Vernon Broadcast Scholarship) and Isidoro Rodriguez (Shirley and Dennis Feldman Fellowship).

“We’ll recognize the role that journalism plays in informing the public, holding government and others in power accountable and upholding the principles of our democracy – more important now than ever,” Matthews said in opening remarks.

ProPublica and The Los Angeles Times won multiple awards. Other winners included Voice of America, The Associated Press, Bloomberg News, The Wall Street Journal, NBC News, Communications Daily, The Guardian, Kaiser Health News,The Philadelphia Inquirer, Barron’s, Vice, Insider, ABC News and the Center for Public Integrity.

The full list of winners and honorable mentions was announced on Dec. 8.