National Press Club

Television Ratings System

December 19, 1996

About This Video

Run time: 52 minutes

Mr. Valenti and several television industry leaders released a six-tier television ratings system based on viewer age, which excludes sports and news programming. The six categories are: TV-G, suitable for all users; TV-Y, suitable for all children; TV-Y-7, suitable for children seven and older; TV-PG, parental guidance suggested; TV-14, suitable for children fourteen and older; TV-M, suitable only for adults. Mr. Valenti stressed that the system was best for parents because it was easy to understand and could be printed in advance and defended the system against charges such as vagueness. Mr. Fritts explained survey data that showed that parents preferred this system. He was the head of the Implementation Group appointed by the industry to create a ratings system at the request of President Clinton and others.