National Press Club

2011 NPC Journalism Awards Ceremony

August 10, 2011

About This Video

Run time: 87 minutes

The Washington Post won two first-place awards, while The Seattle Times, The Salt Lake Tribune, McClatchy Newspapers and The Wall Street Journal won one apiece in the annual National Press Club journalism awards competition. PBS was among the broadcast winners. and the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting won for their online journalism and outstanding multimedia reporting.

In a special tribute, NPC President Hamrick presented a lifetime achievement Presidential Citation to Richard C. Hottelet. He is the last surviving member of the "Murrow Boys", part of the legendary CBS News crew covering World War II.

Also honored with the 2011 John Aubuchon Press Freedom Award: Dorothy Parvaz of al Jazeera, who was detained in brutal prisons filled with political detainees in Syria and Iran. The domestic winner was Lara Logan of CBS News and 60 Minutes, who was attacked by a mob in Cairo earlier in the year.

To order a DVD copy of this video, please contact the National Press Club archives at or 202-662-7598.