National Press Club

Tomas Antonio Mier of Santa Clara, CA, Wins National Press Club’s 2016 Diversity Scholarship for Studies in Journalism

Washington, DC –- The National Press Club, the world's leading professional organization for journalists, has chosen Tomas Antonio Mier as the winner of its 2016 Scholarship for Journalism Diversity. The award is for graduating high school seniors and totals as much as $10,000 over four years.

The scholarship, set up to further diversity in journalism, includes a one-time $500 book stipend in the memory of the late Ellen Masin Persina, a club member.

Past Winners

The 2015 scholarship winner was Megan Elizabeth Zahneis of West Chester, OH.