National Press Club

Lara Logan and Dorothy Parvaz Accept The 2011 John Aubuchon Award

August 10, 2011

About This Video

Run time: 12 minutes

Each year, the National Press Club confers its John Aubuchon Press Freedom Award on two people whose actions contribute to the cause of press freedom and open government. Aubuchon was a late NPC president and an ardent advocate of press freedom.

This year's honorees both covered the uprisings in the Mideast and both faced horrific repression. The international winner of the Aubuchon prize was Dorothy Parvaz of al Jazeera, who was detained in brutal prisons filled with political detainees in Syria and Iran. The domestic winner was Lara Logan of CBS News and 60 Minutes, who was attacked by a mob in Cairo earlier this year.

Watch the riveting testimony of Parvaz and Logan as they accepted their awards at an Aug. 10, 2011 ceremony at the Club.