National Press Club

The Importance of Supporting Scholarship

Myron Belkind | July 31, 2014

The most satisfying aspect of being National Press Club president is informing the winners of three major scholarships awarded each year.

We heard from the 2014 winners at the annual NPC Journalism Awards dinner on July 30, and each expressed deep appreciation for the scholarships, which will enable them to pursue their studies to advance their professional goals in journalism.

None of these scholarships would be made possible were it not for the major fundraising efforts by the National Press Club Journalism Institute, the non-profit affiliate of the National Press Club.
Since 2000, the Institute has helped send more than 50 bright young people to journalism schools nationwide and realize their full potential. Many of these students have gone on to work in some of our nation’s top newsrooms, helping to ensure that our newsrooms reflect the communities they serve.

And so please try to participate in three major upcoming fundraising events organized through the Institute as follows (links are provided with details of each of the fundraisers).

--the 5k Race on Sept. 6:

--the Fourth Estate Award Dinner, which this year will honor the distinguished broadcaster and interviewer, Charlie Rose, on Sept. 13:

--the 37th annual Book Fair and Authors Night on Nov. 18:

Congratulations once again to the three 2014 scholarship winners:

Jose Valle, of Kill Devil Hills, N.C, who won the 2014 Scholarship for Journalism Diversity, which is given to graduating high school seniors. The scholarship provides up to $10,000 over four years. Jose plans to study at a college in North Carolina.

Daniel Wetter, from Roseville, California, who is the recipient of the $5,000 Richard G. Zimmerman Scholarship given to a high school senior wanting to pursue a career in journalism. He will study at George Washington University.

Charles Andrew Eckert, of Maspeth, New York, who is winner of the $5,000 Dennis & Shirley Feldman Fellowship for Graduate Studies in Journalism. He has enrolled in Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism.