National Press Club

Star-Studded Club Spelling Bee Tuesday, Sept. 26

September 19, 2017 | By Crystal White |

The National Press Club is hosting its annual Press vs. Politicians Spelling Bee on Tuesday, Sept. 26. The Bee has confirmed a great list of contestants. The Politicians Team includes: Rep. Don Beyer (D-Va.), Rep. Scott Peters (D-Calif.), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-Ore.), Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-Md.), Rep. Ted Deutch (D-Fla.) and Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.). Those confirmed in the press corner are 2016 champion Art Swift (Gallup), Alexandra Petri (The Washington Post), Molly Ball (The Atlantic) and Seung Min Kim (Politico).

The Bee will be emceed by Clinton Yates (ESPN’s "The Undefeated") and Kelsey Snell (The Washington Post). Dr. Jacques Bailly, The Scripps National Spelling Bee’s official pronouncer, will officiate. Ananya Vinay, champion of the 2017 Scripps National Spelling Bee, will join as the guest judge.

The event will kick off with a one-on-one spelling challenge between 2017 Scripps National Spelling Bee champion Vinay and 2016 NPC Spelling Bee winner Swift.

Doors will open at 6 p.m. and the Bee will begin at 7:15 p.m. Tickets can be purchased by clicking here.