National Press Club

Please Welcome 48 New Club Members

October 20, 2009 | By Myron Belkind, Club secretary |

The Board of Governors approved 48 member applications Oct. 19, bringing the total so far this year to 345, compared to 368 for the same period last year.
The new members are:

Gary Gentile – Platts, Sr. Writer; Carlos G. Hamann - Agence France-Presse, Editor/Reporter; Dana Milbank - Washington Post, Columnist; Michele Salcedo - The Associated Press, Newsperson; Andrea Shalal-Esa – Reuters, Correspondent; Kyung Song - The Seattle Times, Reporter; Cynthia A. Tucker - The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Columnist

Active Non-Resident
Emmanuel Earl Ankrah - Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, Senior Editor; Mohamed Eliwa - Arabia Inform,, CEO, Chief Editor; John R. Sodergreen - Scudder Publishing Group LLC, Publisher & Editor-in-Chief

Active Non-Resident Reinstate
Peter A. Holmes - Semloh Advisors, Robert Kimata Kungu; G.P.S. Newspix - Writer, Photographer

Active Under 35
Joseph Adler – SourceMedia, Reporter; Nyia Hawkins - Associate Press, Coordinating Producer; Seda Serdar - IHA News Agency, Washington Bureau Chief

Active Under 30
Evan McMorris-Santoro -, Reporter; Andrew S. Medici - BNA, Inc., Reporter; Jennifer Richer - Citadel Communications: 630 WMAL News, Web News Coordinator, Web News Content

Katherine Carboo - Embassy of Ghana, Press Attaché; Min Chan - Arabia Inform, General Counsel; Karin Finkler - Self-Employed, Contracting; Heide Bronke Fulton - U.S. Department of State, Legislative Fellow; Annie Howell - Discovery Communications, Inc. (Planet Green), SVP, Communications & Public Affairs; Peter Charles Knudson - National Transportation Safety Board, Public Affairs Officer; Doreen Ackom Owusu - Embassy of Ghana, Higher Executive Officer, Public Affairs; Dennis Raimondi - Self-Employed, KRUU FM Radio Show Host

Affiliate 65+
Jack Kramer - M + K Partners, Independent Contractor

Affiliate Non-Resident
William Jeffrey Brown - AHN Media, Publisher/CEO; Jan Diggs - Arabia Inform, GM Business Development; Jessica Durkin - Self-Employed, Freelance Journalist, Founder, ; Noah Miller - Dyncorp International, Media Advisor

Janet Bass - American Federation of Teachers, Deputy Director; Joseph R. Berger - Dickstein Shapiro LLP, Associate, Litigating Attorney; Yinong Chong - Traditional Chinese Culture Institute International, Communication Director; Gregory Davis - GVC, LLC, C.O.O.; Matthew C. Davis - Global Village Publishing & Media, Managing Director, USA; Steven G. Ellis - Saylor Company, Principal; Barton R. Greer - BAE Systems, Director, Media & External Relations; Michael Henry - Library of American Broadcasting, Reference Specialist; Maniza B. Naqvi - World Bank, Sr. Social Protection Specialist

Associate Reinstate
Johnnie Leon Peace, Jr. - Peace Consulting, Government Affairs, Lobbying

Associate Under 35
Natalya Anfilofyeva – CSBA, Director, Public Affairs; Midy Aponte - The Sanchez Ricardo Agency, President; Meredith Hall – NISH, Marketing Specialist: Ability One Speaker's Bureau

Building Tenant
Steven Nadel - American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy, Executive Director


Ryan Lee Honick - American University, Student; Andrew M. Seaman - Student/Intern, Wilkes University/USA Today; Christie Williams - CQ-Roll Call, Intern