National Press Club

Please Welcome 25 New Club Members

December 1, 2009 | By Myron Belkind, Club Secretary |

The Board of Governors approved 25 membership applications Nov. 23, bringing the total so far this year to 393, compared to 397 for the same period last year.
The new members are:

Georgie Anne Geyer - Universal Press Syndicate, Columnist; E. Drake Lundell – Kiplinger, Editor; Peer Meinert - German Press Agency – DPA, Correspondent; Amena Husein Saiyid - Platts Inc., Associate Editor; Philipe-Joseph Salazar - University of Cape Town, Professor, Director of Graduate Program in Rhetoric (Media)

Active Non-Resident:
Arline Kaplan, Huntington Beach, CA – Self - Independent Writer, Freelance - Psychiatric Times; Don Philpott, Maitland, FL - Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group, Editor, International Homeland Security; Mark J. Prendergast, Flushing, NY - St. John's University, Professor of Journalism; J. Alex Tarquinio, New York, NY - Smart Money Magazine, Staff Writer

Active Non-Resident Reinstatement:
Klaus Justsen, St. Helena, SC - Jyllands Posten, U.S. Bureau Chief

Active Under 30:
Audrey Dutton - Source Media/The Bond Buyer, Reporter; Danielle M. George - AHN Media Corp., Sr. Editorial Lead; Courtney P. Thomas - America's Most Wanted/STF Productions, Production Assistant

Provisional Under 30:
Matthew Berger - Inter Press Service, Correspondent; Ryan J. Reilly - Main Justice, Reporter - Justice Department News

Roberta L. Graham - Office of the Federal Coordinator for Alaska Natural Gas Projects, Special Assistant/Public Affairs; M. Rizvi Hassen - Embassy of Sri Lanka, First Secretary, Media; Janet M. Philips - The White House, White House Photo Archivist

Nawal Kamel - The World Bank, Director; Vickie Curd Ladt - Ladt Consulting Services, Inc., President; Robin Leeds - Winning Strategies, LLC, CEO; Deborah Weixl - American Bar Association, Director, Strategic Communications & Planning

Associate Reinstatement:
Patricia McMurray - Quinn Gillespie Associates, Director, Communications

Millicent Hunter - American University, Student, M.A. Public Communications; Jessica Lihalakha - Howard University, Student