National Press Club

National Press Club wants to recognize your excellent journalism

January 30, 2018 | By Will Lester |

The National Press Club wants to see your best journalism from 2017 for the Club’s annual journalism contest.

The best work in breaking news, political coverage, broadcast news, consumer news, online news techniques, foreign coverage and news photos are among the awards being offered. Many of the categories have cash prizes and some offer a year of free membership in the Press Club. Details on the prizes are here.

The deadline for entries is April 1, 2018.

Entrants are encouraged to use the online entry method, but if you prefer, the Club will accept entries mailed in the traditional way as long as they are postmarked before the deadline. No matter which method, the most important thing is to make sure and enter your best journalism.

The Club awards are intended to recognize the best in both traditional and newer forms of journalism. The competition offers journalists a chance to have their work recognized by the Club, one of the leading journalism organizations in the country for more than a century.

The awards in the contest are breaking news (broadcast and print); consumer journalism (newspapers, periodicals and broadcast); news photos; Arthur Rowse Award for Press Criticism; Washington regional reporting; newsletter journalism; Joan M. Friedenberg Online Journalism Award; Michael Dornheim Award for coverage of defense, aerospace or the airline industry; Lee Walczak Award for Political Analysis; Ann Cottrell Free Animal Reporting Award; Angele Gingras Humor Award; Joseph D. Ryle Award for Excellence in Writing on the Problems of Geriatrics; Edwin M. Hood Award for Diplomatic Correspondence for coverage of diplomatic and foreign policy issues and the Sandy Hume Memorial Award for Excellence in Political Journalism for reporters 34 years old and younger.

The winners will be honored at an awards dinner at the Club this summer. The date has not been set.