National Press Club

Journalism Courage Honored 7 pm Oct. 26

October 24, 2009

2009 Courage in Journalism Award winners:

  • Iryna Khalip of Belarus, reporter and editor in the Minsk bureau of Novaya Gazeta
  • Agnès Tailé of Cameroon, media consultant and former reporter for Canal 2 International, radio and television
  • Jila Baniyaghoob* of Iran, freelance reporter and editor-in-chief of the Web site Kanoon Zanan Irani (Iranian Women's Center)

The 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award winner is Amira Hass, a reporter and columnist for Ha'aretz Daily, a newspaper based in Tel Aviv.

"These remarkable journalists have chosen to report the news in three countries where pursuit of the truth puts them at risk for arrest, physical attacks and even death," said Judy Woodruff, chairwoman of the IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards. "Still, they have consistently, for many years, chosen to risk their lives and livelihoods in pursuing stories that illuminate the lives of people in their countries and enlighten us all."

*Baniyaghoob will not attend the event.