National Press Club

"I am Charlie” remembrance at NPC this week

January 11, 2015 | By Myron Belkind |

The National Press Club will honor the victims of the terrorist attack on the office of the satirical newspaper Charlie Hebdo in Paris Jan. 7 with a minute of silence at the start of every Club event this week.

“We have a very full week of events, including committee meetings, Newsmakers, a luncheon, and other programs leading up to the annual general meeting, and I would like to ask each event chair to request everyone to stand for a minute’s silence to remember the victims' contributions to journalism and to freedom of the press,” said Club President Myron Belkind.

Among the 12 dead at Charlie Hebdo were the editor, Stephane "Charb” Charbonnier, and four leading cartoonists: Georges Wolinski, known as Wolinski; Jean "Cabu" Cabut; Bernard "Tignous" Verlhac; and Philippe Honore, known as Honore.