National Press Club

Award to honor best political reporting of 2013

February 24, 2014 | By Will Lester |

The Lee Walczak Award for Political Analysis goes each year to some of the best political coverage in the nation as part of the National Press Club's annual journalism awards.

The deadline for entries is April 1, free for Club members and $50 for non-members. The prize for the winner is $750. For the first time, entries may be submitted online as well as by mail. For more information, click here.

Awards categories include: breaking news, news photography, regional reporting on Washington, international coverage, consumer reporting, online journalism and newsletter journalism.

Another group of awards honors diverse areas of reporting such as the welfare of animals, the journalism industry, the aviation industry, problems facing the elderly and humor writing.

This award is named in memory of Lee Walczak, a Washington editor, bureau chief and White House correspondent who worked for Bloomberg News and Business Week. The winner last year was Michael Scherer of Time for his thorough look at the Obama re-election campaign and its sophisticated use of technology.