National Press Club

Long Island University to Announce Polk Award Winners

Long Island University to Announce Polk Award Winners

February 20, 2018 10:00 AM

Location: First Amendment Lounge

Long Island University to Announce Polk Award Winners at
National Press Club February 20th
Exclusive Panel on Mueller Investigation with Michael Schmidt and Greg Miller

To underscore the crucial role of quality journalism in American democracy, Long Island University will host its first press conference to announce the winners of the 69th Annual George Polk Awards. This event will be held in the First Amendment Lounge of the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., on February 20 at 11 a.m. (refreshments starting at 10 a.m.).

The event will also include an Exclusive Panel Discussion about press coverage of special counsel Robert Mueller’s investigation of the Trump administration’s possible collusion with Russia to influence the presidential election, featuring Greg Miller of the Washington Post and Michael S. Schmidt of The New York Times. The panel will be moderated by Margaret Sullivan, the Washington Post’s media writer and former public editor of the Times.

The George Polk Awards are one of the nation’s most prestigious journalism honors. They focus on the reporters themselves, placing a premium on work that is intrepid, original, resourceful and thought-provoking. Previous winners include Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, Walter Cronkite, Edward R. Murrow, Christiane Amanpour, Peter Jennings, Norman Mailer, Diane Sawyer, Seymour Hersh, Glenn Greenwald, and many more luminaries of the Fourth Estate. This year, 485 submissions were considered in categories honoring all forms of media and ranging from Foreign Reporting to Local Reporting.

For More Information On This Event, Contact:

Brian Hoeflschweiger